‘Star Wars:The Approaching Storm’ – Chapter 18 (Part 2)

Well, it’s Thursday and I’m that much closer to the weekend.  I’m really looking forward to spending some time with Josh and Joanne.  I’m most excited about being at their party and being able to be there for the party for once.  It’s the first time I’ve been able to do that since they got married and moved into the house. When we woke up this morning, Tara was not feeling well.  She was vomitting, but not food, but phlegm.  It sounded worse than it was and Heather volunteered to stay home with her considering that I am going to be “sick” at work tommorrow.  I’m worried about the trip north with her tommorrow, but Heather said she will get her well before we have to go.  I went to school and got everything ready for the day and then realized that I forgot the picture for my one friend, so I called Heather and asked her to bring it to me when she picks me up tonight.

My students worked hard today and we got a lot accomplished.  The weather for tommorrow is not looking so hot.  It’s supposed to be wet, potentially icy and windy, windy, windy.  So, I know that I’m gonna need to get out early tommorrow to try and get ahead of the storm.  Heather came and picked me up from school at our usual time and we headed home.  We spent some time as a family together and I now feel like a complete heal.  Because we are going to Rochester with the kids this weekend, I’m taking the kids out of school tommorrow.  Well, Ruth is supposed to go to the local ice rink as a reward for being a good student in school and I’m taking her out of school and taking her away from her ability to participate.  She’s not overly happy about it and I told her I would make it up to her later in the winter by taking her to the rink myself.  Besides, she’ll get a good laugh when I fall on my own ass a billion times because of the toe picks on the skates.

Anyway, we came home and spent some time together as a family and then ate dinner.  After dinner the scramble was on.  I was scrambling all night long to get my clothes and “stuff” for tommorrow together.  Before we went to bed, I called in “sick” for tommorrow and watched the weather report one last time.  I’m gonna need to be getting going early as the storm is supposed to hit in the afternoon and I want to get to Webster by noon.  So, this means getting going earlier than I wanted and Heather wants me to go to PA to get gas because gas prices have gone up around here by 4 cents a gallon in one day.

Okay, let’s talk about Part 2 of Chapter 18 of “Star Wars:The Approaching Storm” by Alan Dean Foster…..


Chapter 18 (Part 2):  A Dbarian owned the inn and greeted them with surprise.  The Jedi asked for a room and for someone to go to the Unity Council and tell them they have returned with a signed treaty.  The Dbarian asked why they hadn’t told the Unity yet and they said their comlinks were destroyed on their journey.  The Dbarian told them that the Unity was supposed to vote today.  Anakin was shocked that they would consider this but Obi-Wan reminded him that off-worlders were pushing for this vote to happen.  Obi-Wan asked the inn-keeper when they were to vot, and he said it would be at sunset.  They all relaxed and realized they have some time.  Obi-Wan asked to borrow a comlinkand radioed delegate Ranjiyn.  Luminara asked Obi-Wan what was wrong and he said that communication in the city was jammed.  He sensed that evil forces knew they were here.  As Kyakhta and Bulgan drew their weapons, the innkeeper began to worry about the city’s communications systems, ut Obi-Wan assured him it would be back up, but only after the vote.  The Jedi, Alwari, and one Gwurran ran up the main boulevard.  As they did, the inn had a terrible explosion and imploded on itself……

Leave a Reply

