‘Star Wars:The Approaching Storm’ – Chapter 15 (Part 1)

Okay, so it’s Wednesday and I came to school all prepared to give final exams in my classes.  I was uber-prepared to give the finals and was really ready to have the students focus on the exams.  I even brought my new “Star Wars On Trial” book to school figuring I would have some time to read it while students were taking the exams (I need to get this book read so that I can be on one of the last episodes of ChronoRadio to talk about how Star Wars will go down in history).  As I was getting everything prepped, a substitute teacher showed up at the doorstep of my room.  I asked her why she was here and she said she was here for me.  I said that was not possible as I was standing right here in front of her and ready to go.  This confused me.  Why was she here?  So, I called the main office (what teacher in their right mind wouldn’t.  I thought maybe I was being fired and no one told me.  I’ve heard horror stories about this in corporate America, so why couldn’t it happen at a school?).  When I talked to the secretary, I found out I had a meeting today, which I thought was scheduled for tomorrow.  CRAP!!!  I didn’t plan on this and my students are supposed to start their finals today.  Ah well, not much I can do.  So, I explained to the substitute what needed to be done in order for her to host the final exams and then left the building and went to another building in the district.

My meeting went well.  Most of our time was spent talking about NCLB and our hopes that the pressure put on schools by NCLB would be lifted considering a Democratic Congress was just elected into power as of today.  Our hope is that NCLB will be lightened or even taken away for good.  I do believe that schools need to be held accountable for their production ability.  But, I take issue with how they are trying to measure how well a school is doing.  Testing is not a medium to rate a school by.  Especially testing of students that have no recourse nor any buy-in.  Meaning that it’s not like students will get held back if they fail the test.  Instead, their teachers get punished and the school LOOSES money!!  That’s right, follow this logic a minute.  If you do poorly under NCLB you loose money.  That’s right, your school is failing to meet expectations, so we expect you to do more with less money.  How does that make sense?  Anyway, we got done with our meeting early and I went back over to school to get some work done.  My room was a wreck, but I was able to clean up and look at the final exams.  They’re not looking too good.  Hopefully some of my students will fix some of the mistakes they made today, tomorrow.  Somehow, I don’t think it is going to happen.  I waited around at school and then headed to SMASH and practiced with them.  Things went well and I was able to go home and relax the rest of the night.  I went home to a practically empty house as my wife had to work tonight to make up for not working this coming Saturday as we are going to Rochester for Robert Kenneth Crissman’s baptism.

Okay, let’s talk about Part 1 of Chapter 15 of Alan Dean Foster’s “Star Wars:The Approaching Storm”…..


Chapter 15 (Part 1):  A Unity delegate strode through the garden of Kandah and the delegate was pondering his vote about whether to stay in or out of the Republic.  He then gathers other delegates and they begin to talk about the impending vote.  Garil Volune pointed out that a vote would be too soon and that the Jedi weren’t gone for that long.  Some agreed and others did not.  Delegate Fargane points out that they have not been respectful and contacted them in any way, good or bad.  Tolut suggests that they may be having comlink problems, and Volune couldn’t believe that four comlinks could all be busted.  Kandah pointed out that if the Jedi are truly competant, then they would have spares or al way to repair the, and he implies that the Jedi were unsuccessful and have probably already left the planet.  Tun Damereed said that Kandah and Ogomoor are not official delegates, just guests and should not be commenting on the negotiations.  Ogomoor asks what negotiations they were referring to as they allowed the Jedi into talking them into giving them a chance to bind them all under Republic Law.  He said they have already been gracious and that many wait the outcome of their vote…..

 

 

Leave a Reply

