‘Star Wars:The Approaching Storm’ – Chapter 6 (Part 3)

As a Tuesday, it seemed to go better today at school.  I think my students are finally starting to settle into a schedule and I’m finally starting to feel like I have a classroom schedule.  It’s hard when you start the year off the way we did, but it will work out in the long run.  It was exhausting today but I also think I’m starting to get used to our schedule.  I found out today that one of my friends’ mother died over the weekend.  I feel horrible because there is nothing I can do for her physically and I can’t even afford the shirt on my back right now because I’m too poor myself.  All I can do for her at this point is pray and sometimes I know that’s enough, but as a human it just feels like it’s not enough.  I got home and told Heather about the situation and we prayed about it together quick and then got to getting dinner together.  Heather headed out to take the girls to cheerleading and I worked with Austin on his reading while they were gone.  The girls got home and the kids went to bed and Heather went to work her late night shift.  Oh yeah, I forgot that was going to happen on Tuesday nights and I was, yet again, alone at night with a lot to do and little time to get it done.  I did a ton of grading, set-up my grade books and my lesson plans and got to bed pretty late.  It just seems so overwhelming and maybe it feels worse because I don’t see Heather on Tuesday nights.

Anyway, time to talk about Part 3 of Chapter 6 of “Star Wars:The Approaching Storm” by Alan Dean Foster…..


Chapter 6 (Part 3):  The Jedi have found that one advantage that technology gives them over beasts of burden is smell!!  Anakin and Barriss are talking and watching guard as their masters acquire some transportation.  Barriss said she apologized to Luminara for letting herself get abducted and Anakin said they’ve all done stupid things.  Barriss gets offended at being called stupid and Anakin apologizes and says he’s preoccupied.  Anakin apologizes and says if he hadn’t been preoccupied, she wouldn’t have been abducted in the first place.  Barriss points out that the positive is that these two Alwari are now able to be their guides.  Anakin thought to himself that he just wanted to be done with this mission.  What would one world like Ansion matter to the Republic?  And maybe the Republic needed a secessionist movement to stop it’s corruption.  As Ankin came out of his mental funk, he asked Barriss why they were here.  He said it was a waste of time intended for diplomats not Jedi.  He said if it were up to him, he’d put the Alwari and city-folk in a room and lock them in until an agreement was met.  If they coldn’t agree, then the Senate woudl send in a task-force and take direct control.  Barriss asked about the Commerce Guild to which Anakin replied that the Commerce Guild does what is profitable and war is not profitable for them.  Anakin also said the average citizens’ lives would not change and trade would go on as usual.  Barriss wondered if he were willing to risk thousands of lives and the way of the Alwari just to find out.  She pointed out that four Jedi resolving the matteris less threatening and cheaper than doing what Anakin suggests.

Leave a Reply

