‘Star Wars:The Approaching Storm’ – Chapter 5 (Part 1)

It was back to the grind today, sort of.  We had the first day for teachers today and well, there wasn’t much to do for me.  As much as I wanted to do a whole bunch of work, I didn’t have much to work with.  I have no drawers in my room, no instruments (all on the condemned stage) and no workbooks (lost in the flood in June).  Not a good sign that I’m not starting with any real equipment to work with.  I’m even more concerned that I have no workbooks to work with either.  I guess it will all shake out and I’m trying to remain patient.  We did learn good news about the auditorium today and found out that we were never at any health risk as the aesbestos was never airborne in there.  At least I know I didn’t breathe it in, that makes me feel better.  We’ve been told we’ll have our equipment by the end of the week, so I planned out my lessons for the weeks based on that.

I have what I hope are some cool lesson plans for my students.  My sixth graders have a class project of being judges while we watch “Celebrity Duets” or “American Idol”.  We’ll talk about what constitutes a quality performance and what doesn’t.  My seventh graders are going to make their own podcast about a music artist of their choice.  I’ll help them with the development concept and even help them with the recording techniques.  My eighth graders are going to make a music video with all sorts of equipment, including “Visual Communicator” and a green screen.  I think they’ll find all the projects fun.

I was exhausted when I was done with the day and Heather was nice enough to take the girls to cheerleading so I could get caught up on blogging (I was a week behind) and so I could work on a whole bunch of paperwork for tommorrow.  I’m also seriously behind on my reading and may have to take a whole day next weekend just to read my book to get ahead.  Doing all this stuff is going to get tough through marching band season, but I signed up for it all and I’ll make it work!

Okay, time to talk about Part 1 of Chapter 5 of “Star Wars:The Approaching Storm” by Alan Dean Foster…..


Chapter 5 (Part 1):  Kyakhta remarked about how heavy Barriss was as Bulgan released the bag and Barriss suddenly realized she was bonded up.  Kyakhta removed her belt, including her lightsaber.  Bulgan commented about how he wanted to try one but Kyakhta reminded him that Soergg said their often booby-trapped.  Barriss told them they were in trouble as three Jedi would be looking for her.  They laughed and said they can’t be found here and that she won’t be here for long.  She asked why they captured her and Kyakhta said he doesn’t ask questions and can’t wait to tell his boss the good news.  Kyakhta told Bulgan to watch her carefully and he left the room.  Barriss tried to think of an escape, but none would work.  She also contemplated who would be trying to kidnap her…..

Leave a Reply

