‘Star Wars:Rogue Planet’ – Negatives and Rating

Today was EXTREMELY busy and I just felt that I didn’t have a chance to sit down and even breathe.  I left for work around ten-forty a.m.  Work was definetly steady today and it just seemed like people didn’t stop coming.  I barely had an opportunity to even get the fryers filtered.  One thing that happened that really ticked me off was a “drive off”.  I will give you an idea what a drive off is.  We had a guy come to the window today and order ten Junior Bacon Cheeseburgers.  So, we got working right away.  I started cooking meat faster, we had the rolls set up and we were ready to make them.  Then, when we went to have the guy pay or look out the window, the car drove off.  What a frickin’ bummer!!  All that work for nothing and to make matters worse, I just burned off a whole bunch of meat for no reason at all.  It really ticks me off when people do it thinking it’s funny and a good prank.  I think more fast food restaurants should have cameras at the drive-thru to avoid this type of behavior.

I came home to complete chaos at four o’clock.  We struggled to get dinner together and scrambled to eat on time.  We pretty much got done with that, caught up for fifteen minutes on the day and then started to get ready to leave.  I headed out to Vestal where I had my first opportunity to really run a portion of rehearsal.  I through some changes at the kids and some difficult moments and they handled it all well.  I like having a band that seems like they can think on the go.  My band that I directed before was very much that way and it helps when you get to competition time and you need to make changes.  Having bands that can make changes to tempo or even sets fairly easily really add to the level of difficulty of material that we can throw at them.

I came home tonight and continued to work on my Wookie Bowcaster.  More sanding and more sanding.  It’s going to take a while, but I think I’ll have all the sanding done by Friday night which means I can start working on the other portions of it by the weekend.

So, it’s time to talk about the negatives of “Star Wars:Rogue Planet” by Greg Bears and my rating…..

Negatives:  There were many negatives of this book.  So many that I’m not sure where to begin.  First off, the chapters seem like they weren’t planned out very well and some of the chapters were almost completely pointless.  Why bother having a chapter that is all of three paragraphs long and only one page?  Couldn’t that information have been folded into another chapter?  It just urks me when it seems like a book author isn’t organized when it comes to writing a book and that they decide that information doesn’t need to be chunked in an organized manner.  Second, there was way too much information at times!!  There were some great explanations of creatures and plant-life in this book and then out of nowhere, Bears goes on and on and on explaining more about the topice he’s writing about.  Just too much information to take in at times.  I don’t know if he writes this way in other books, but it’s boring to a reader.  Third, I didn’t like the way that the Sekotans were displayed.  They seemed passive and then aggressive.  It’s almost as if this entire species has some form of bi-polar disorder.  I’m not sure this is the way they were meant to be displayed, but this is the way they came acrossed.  Fourth, there was too much “intrigue” in the book.  Too many things weren’t explained.  So, for all of the explanations that were made, there was no explanation made about how the ships are made.  No explanation about what else is going on, on the planet.  No explanation as to the real connection that Anakin is having with the creatures and plant life.  It made it seem as if the book were dragging on and on.  Finally, I really hate how they explained how the idea of the Death Star came about.  I really don’t think the Death Star would have been based on some plant-based planet that can move all over the universe.  Instead I believe that it had more evil intent and purposes right from the beginning.  That’s like saying the idea for the nuclear bomb came from the Garden of Eden.  Two totally opposite places and concepts that supposedly led to one purpose. 

The negatives of this book added up against the positives, and this book could be ignored entirely and then people could still understand the Star Wars Extended Universe.  So, I am saying that if you want to, and you’re not caught up to me, skip this book!  That’s why this book got a:

“Star Wars:Rogue Planet” by Greg Bears:  2

 Starting tommorrow, we will start reviewing “Star Wars:The Approaching Storm” by Alan Dean Foster.  I will be skipping over “Star Wars:Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn as it is not out on paperback yet.  I will review that book after reviewing Alan Dean Foster’s book, at which point Zahn’s book should be out on paperback.

Leave a Reply

