‘Star Wars:Rogue Planet’ – Chapter 55

The heat index in Binghamton today reached one-hundred and five degrees!  One word explains this day – HOT!!!  I can’t believe how hot and humid it really is in this area.  I don’t think I’ve felt this hot since Josh and I went to Gettysburg and reenacted in ninety degree heat with wool uniforms on.  Man, it’s just way too hot.  I went to school today and worked on finishing up our curriculum map.  It was a slow and steady process but it seems as though it may generally all end tommorrow.

I came home and Christine came by and picked up her son, that my wife watched while we were at the workshop.  We said our goodbyes and then went downstairs to the cool basement while I ate lunch.  It was so hot, we decided to go to the public pool and cool off for about an hour.  Unfortunately, it is the same public school that a lot of my school kids hang out at, so I felt like I was constantly being watched.  All well, such is the life of a teacher.  I guess they just don’t expect to see me outside of school.  We came home and I made burgers on the grill and the kids and I went downstairs and ate dinner.  I then started to clean up after having worked on the Helm’s Deep set over the past six months while I watched our usual T.V. shows.

Okay, time to talk about Chapter 55 of “Star Wars:Rogue Planet” by Greg Bears…..

Chapter 55:  Anakin knew this trial of The Force was far from over.  He had to get Jabitha away from the mountain and get back to Obi-Wan and then deal with his issues.  They crawled through the ruined entrance to a long, dark corridor.  Anakin reached out with The Force and began to see his way.  They got to the end and turned right where they saw a chamber where Anakin and Obi-Wan had met the Magister only days before.  They kept hearing the sounds of rock grinding against rock and the Sekot continued to live in these halls.  Anakin thought he saw Vergere, then talked himself into the fact that it was a dream.  As they reached the next circular shaped chamber, where Jabitha saw an arm sticking out between the stones.  The hand had an old Jedi Apprentice ring on it and Jabitha said he was dead because only the Magister was permitted to wear the ring.  Jabitha assumed he died in the battle with the Far Outsiders but wondered who was sending messages from the palace.  Then Anakin turned and saw a feathered Jedi Knight.  Anakin had no fear as he felt he was in the presence of a friend.  The figure said she sent the messages and Anakin asked who she was.  She said a friend of Vergere, and said her name was Sekot.

Leave a Reply

