‘Star Wars:Rogue Planet’ – Chapter 50

I got to work at my expected time today and my boss told me about a new process that Wendy’s is using now.  Wendy’s used to put the meat on the bun and put the cheese on top of the meat on a double and if it was a triple, they decided to put the meat on top and the bottom of the bun.  It was a pretty simple process and made the job for the grill guy pretty easy.  Bring over two or three burgers, depending on what was called for.  Well, this is no longer the case.  Wendy’s Corporate has decided that they don’t like that anymore, they want us all to start putting the cheese between the patties.  As simple as this sounds, it’s not an easy task.  Now, when I have a double, I’m supposed to bring the two burgers over, slide the top one off, let the sandwich maker put the cheese on the meat and put the second pattie on top.  Great concept, but obviously some manager somewhere wrote this down but never tried it!  I dropped over twelve patties today to try and make this concept work!  Mind you, before this point I have NEVER dropped a burger.  The hardest part is that I can’t touch anything with my hands because I touch raw meat with my hands and I can’t contaminate the meat.  Well, I tried all sorts of different techniques today and nothing worked!  It was totally frustrating!!  It was a slow day, luckily, so the dropping of the meat really wasn’t a big deal.

It was a very hot and humid day around here so I was exhausted and tired when I came home but got dinner together by myself because Heather had to get to work at four.  I made the kids tacos, refried beans, spanish rice, and watermelon (hey, it’s summer, gotta have that!).  We ate dinner, cleaned up and headed downstairs.  I started to paint some “rocks” for the Helm’s Deep set black for undercoating and we all watched “Big Brother” and “So You Think You Can Dance” and then I switched to the movie “K-9”.  Heather called around nine o’clock and said she would not be able to be home on time tonight because an employee called in.  Well, so much for going to bed with my wife tonight.  She got home around 11:30 and we worked on where we were going to eat between here and Six Flags Darien Lake and decided we would stop at the McDonalds at the Mount Morris exit.  We put our bed back together because Heather had torn our room apart to flea bomb the room again and went to sleep at 1 a.m.  So much for my getting to bed early tonight as well.

Well, time to talk about Chapter 50 of “Star Wars:Rogue Planet” by Greg Bears…..

Chapter 50:  The sky-mines were forcing Shappa’s ship lower and lower in the atmosphere of the planet.  He let Obi-Wan know that the others landed ont he Magister’s mountain as he landed his own ship on a torn up part of the planet.  As they looked out the viewport, Shappa disparaged about the devastation and how the Potentium could let that happen to them.  Obi-Wan asked how far they were from the mountain and where Charza Kwinn was.  Shappa said one hundred kilometers and Kwinn’s ship shot below the clouds as they did.  Obi-Wan all the sudden felt that Anakin was at a crossroads and the next hours would decide is fate.  Obi-Wan closed his eyes and listened to Qui-Gon’s voice one more time.  The voice told him that The Force had failed him.  It allowed his master to die and now may let his apprentice die.  Then Obi-Wan remembered that the future is yet to happen.

Leave a Reply

