‘Star Wars:Rogue Planet’ – Chapter 40

Okay, I have to say I have a love/hate relationship with being a teacher.  The most annoying part of being a teacher is having to deal with the polotics and infuriating miscommunication in New York State.  I have finished with my Master’s School degree at U.N.E., and I am now applying for my permanent certificate.  Seems like a simple task doesn’t it?  Well, this is New York State, nothing can be that simple!!  Now I have done several things to get ready for this step in my teaching career.  Like, I have already gotten my fingerprints completed and I have had my school fax over my record of being a highly qualified and lovely teacher for the past five years.  Of course, now we are dealing with the issue of New York State getting my application.  When I first started the process, they told me to go online to a website.  I did so and tried to get the application and couldln’t.  When I called them about the issue, they claimed that I didn’t have the right version of Adobe Acrobat Reader.  As a matter of fact, my Adobe was too modern.  Is that even possible?  I thought Adobe could read all previous versions much like “Word” or “Excel”.  Anyway, long story short, it was just not working.  So, the state sent me to another site and told me to download the application, fill it out by hand and then send it to my local BOCES person.  No problem.  Except, that BOCES person went on vacation for two weeks and I couldn’t get ahold of her!  So, today, I got a phone call and email from BOCES saying they couldn’t process the application, BECAUSE THEY ONLY ACCEPT ONLINE APPLICATIONS!!  And oh, by the way, they sent me to the same shitty website that didn’t work before!!  I must be surrounded by morons!  So, I had to call the state and get beligerent with them and they finally said they would figure out the problem and get back to me or my wife (most likely my wife as I was going to work in about twenty minutes).  An hour later, my wife showed up at work and showed me what happened.  Evidently, the state had me listed as a FEMALE!!  That’s right, Bob Crissman, the female.  Because Bob is such a feminine name.  They also had me under about three different aliases and had no idea what was going on.  They cleared everything up with my wife and we started the next process. Hopefully within a week or two, my online situation should say “processing”.  That would mean they have gotten my fingerprints and money (which is all they really care about) and my transcripts and are now “looking into my past” to make sure I’ll be a good teacher.  As long as I’m being processed by September 1st, I’m okay.  So needless to say, I’m a little leary about the whole thing and will be checking my status regularly.

Other than that, my day wasn’t bad.  Work was work and I came home and finished painting those elven miniatures and started the Rohan Royal Gaurd miniatures.  I hope to have all the miniatures finished by the end of the week and into the weekend.  Shouldn’t be too hard.

Okay, time to talk about Chapter 40 of “Star Wars:Rogue Planet” by Greg Bears…..

Chapter 40:  Vagno introduced them to the head shaper, Vidge.  Vidge was shocked at the number of disks and wondered if they had paid extra for that .  The forging began.  Obi-Wan and Anakin helped by stacking the disks in a rack in a corner of the room.  They watched in awe as the process began.  A frame was brought forth made by Shappa Farrs.  Then they brought forth a Haor Chall Type 7 engine with drive core unit.  It had been lightly modified.  Another crystal structure followed.  Obi-Wan believes it is the integration unit that will integrate organic and mechanical.  As they began to manipulate the disks, Vidge says there are too many and calls for a second frame.  Anakin asked if they were to make two seperate ships, but Obi-Wan didn’t think so.  Then Vidge asked each jedi to crawl into their frames so he could form the ship around them.  Anakin started to become scared and overwhelmed, but meditated to try and regain control.  Obi-Wan was calm even among the bad smell.  Vidge told Anakin that the ship will be formed around them and then the seeds need his help.  Vidge looked at Ob-Wan and said he thinks there will only be one ship.  many things began to happen.  Organic became alive, juices flowing, even sparks flying!  In amongst it all, Obi-Wan informed Anakin that the Jentari are cybernetic organisms.  As they were asked more and more questions by the seeds, they lost track of time.  When it was done, Anakin was in pure delight!  Obi-Wan notes it needs some modifications, but Anakin can’t wait to test the hyperdrive core.

Leave a Reply

