‘Star Wars:Rogue Planet’ – Chapter 34

I woke up this morning to no power in the house.  We had some terrible storms come rushing through the area and it was amazing that we didn’t have more damage than we did.  I didn’t sleep very well because it sounded like World War III was going on outside between two and three this morning.  I got up and showered and got ready for going back to the High School to do more curriculum writing.  I got to the school and realized that summer school had started and there was no parking.  So, I had to park at the upper parking lot way up the street and walk back toward the school.  I really hate doing this as it is a three block walk and I sometimes don’t feel safe making the walk because it’s not exactly through a good part of the city.  I got to the room and we started to work on the curriculum.  The time seemed to drag on and on.  But, somehow in the process of negotiating and rewriting, we got a rough copy of a curriculum done.  Luckily, we got done about ten minutes early so I could walk back to my car.  I came home and Heather greeted me at the door.  Today she brought home lunch for me from Wendy’s and we went downstairs to watch the second episode of “Hell’s Kitchen” which we taped last night.  We talked for a little bit, then decided to watch part of the “SNL:Best of Steve Martin” DVD which we got at Wal-Mart while the kids were gone at my parents’ place.  We went upstairs and took an hour nap and then Heather headed to work for her closing shift while I went to get the babysitter to watch the kids so I could go to my first staff meeting for the Vestal Marching Band.  The staff meeting was exciting and I think a lot of ideas and concepts came out.  We all agreed on a marching band philosophy and agreed that we all want to see some basic things happen, like student improvement and what-not.  It was a good meeting and really I feel as thougth I’m part of a good group of people.  I’m looking forward to this season to see what we all can do.  I then came home, took the babysitter home, and then put the kids to bed and came downstairs to continue to work on the Helm’s Deep set and then blog.

Okay, time to talk about Chapter 34 of “Star Wars:Rogue Planet” by Greg Bears…..

Chapter 34: Gann guided their boat as the cavern widened.  Obi-Wan walked forward and found Anakin asleep on the boat.  Jabitha stroked Anakin’s hair and asked Obi-Wan if they should just let him sleep.  As Obi-Wan watched Anakin sleep he thought that this must be how a father feels and he wished he could just freeze time.  Obi-Wan felt another presence next to him.  He spoke to this person, swung about, but found Gann, which was not the voice he heard.  Gann said it was time to move on and Obi-Wan awoke Anakin.  Anakin said that he was dreaming that Qui-Gon was teaching him something.  He said Qui-Gon also said to say hello and that it’s hard to talk to Obi-Wan.  Gann got both their attention and said the forging was about to begin.  Jabitha asked Anakin if he was excited.  He asked if he should be and she said he was the youngest client ever, and may make the best ship ever produced because of the number of seeds he had.  Then Anakin agreed it’s exciting.  They passed two groups of Ferroan men with drums and strings lit by electronic torches.  Jabitha said they were grand and Anakin agreed. 

Leave a Reply

