‘Star Wars:Rogue Planet’ – Chapter 30

Happy birthday to me, happy birthday to me, happy birthday to me, happy birthday to me!  (obviously sung to the “Happy Birthday” song!).  Okay, so if you haven’t figured it out by now, it is my birthday today.  And it’s a pretty big birthday as well.  Today I turn 30.  It’s a little overwhelming to imagine that I have been on this earth for a total of three decades.  I know I matured early in many ways in my life up until now, and I know I still haven’t matured in other ways (and may never fully mature) and that’s okay with me.  It’s hard for me not to reflect on my life today, simply becuase I have hit this milestone in my life.  It’s important to me to have turned thirty, but still feel young in my heart, and I very much do feel like I’m not a day older than 20.  But hey, that’s my heart talking!

Well, I went to work at Wendy’s today and came home to a ton of energy at home.  My kids came home and just were excited, excited, excited.  They couldn’t wait to tell Heather and I about everything they did at Grammy and Papa’s.  Everything from “Six Flags Darien Lake” to spending the Fourth of July with my parents with sparklers.  Austin was excited about getting “Hero Scape” from Uncle Mike and wanted to play right away.  I told him we would play later because we wanted to visit with Grammy and Papa and talk with everyone and that we would get plenty of time to play the game later.  Ruth loves her room and already has taken to hiding out in the room with books to read.  I figured that would be the case and it doesn’t bother me one bit.  I was a little bothered that I came home for about five minutes and then Heather decided to go to bed and nap.  Which is nice for her and all (with her working tonight) but made it hard on me, since I worked for five hours then had to prepare for dinner with my parents.  AND, ironically, we had hamburgers!!  Just what I wanted to make after flipping burgers for five hours at work.  Yeah, happy birthday to me!

Anyway, I’m not letting any of that get me down.  It’s time to talk about Chapter 30 of “Star Wars:Rogue Planet” by Greg Bears……

Chapter 30:  The airship carried Anakin, Obi-Wan and their seed partners to the point of creation.  Obi-Wan now senses that singular change in The Force to actually be a potential void.  Gann asked who the pilot of the created ship was going to be and Obi-Wan replied it would be Anakin.  The airship they were in rocked while the wind shook it.  Anakin talked to his seed partners to soothe them.  Anakin notices a woman on the airship that looks exactly like the Magister’s daughter.  Anakin asks if they’ve met before and she says, “no”, but tells Anakin that he father puts holograms of her all over the place.  Anakin introduces himself and his teacher Obi-Wan Kenobi.  She says she lives with her mother and younger brother.  She goes to introduce herself and Anakin says her name is Wind.  She cuts him off and says it’s really Jabitha.  Anakin was getting distracted by the seeds but realized Jabitha’s touch was soothing to them.  Jabitha told them about the relationship between the seeds and he boras and how sees are chosen.  Obi-Wan asked when they learned to control the shaping of the seeds  and Jabitha said her grandfather was one of the first Magisters.  Then Obi-Wan told Jabitha that the image of her at her father’s place was not a hologram but a mental image of her.  She avoids the question by pointing out rogue seeds that escapce the shaping process.  Anakin asked Jabitha if she has ever shaped anything.  She said she helped to shape her house.  Anakin asked how they turn seeds into spacecraft and Jabitha said the first craft was shaped, but the engine came from the original colony ship.  they finally got to their destination and Obi-Wan noted that Anakin really seemed to bond with Jabitha but was concerned as they were no closer to finding Vergere.

Leave a Reply

