‘Star Wars:Rogue Planet’ – Chapter 23

Well, I had to work today again and I knew it was going to be a busy Friday.  I went to work by 11 a.m. (slept in till 10 a.m. out of sheer exhuastian still) and the store was hoping already.  We were extremely busy and it seemed like it would never end.  It was so busy that my hand and wrist actually began to hurt.  I also started to get dehydrated at work and had to take a minute to get a drink of water.  On the upside, I was left to the grill on my own today and I stayed with the rushes all day long.  I was pretty proud of myself.  No one had to wait too long for a burger today because of the speed and accuracy that I have developed.  I am actually afraid that if I become too good at the grill that they may never move me to any other position.  Although this is only a summer job, I hope that I’m doing more than just flipping burgers.  Here’s to hoping.

I came home to an empty house as Heather wasn’t home, she was out running erands.  When she got home we talked a little and I complained about my hands hurting.  She suggested using some “Icy/Hot” on them and it did wonders.  It’s much better but not completely healed and it may take the weekend for my wrists to feel normal again.  We went to KFC and got the “potato bowls” from them and they were surprisingly filling and really good.  We came home, I took a half hour snooz while Heather slept for an hour before her closing shift.  The waters are starting to recede around here and all sorts of politicians are showing up, including Hillary (yeah, like that really helps!).

Here are some pics of the flood from Friday.

I also found out that several of my staff members at my school have lost EVERYTHING in the flood.  I feel completely horrible and want to help in some way.  I will have to call my school on Monday and see if there is anything we can do.  In the meantime, if you don’t live in the Binghamton area and would like to help out these teachers and members of our community in some way, please email me at:  robertcrissman@musician.org.  I have a feeling in days to come these people will need food, clothing, and all sorts of different things.  If you are willing to send any items or even send some money to help these people out, I will make sure it gets to them.  Please help these people because not only are they friends of mine, they are fellow teachers and are facing a long uphill road ahead.  Thanks.

Okay, onto talking about Chapter 23 of “Star Wars:Rogue Planet” by Greg Bears…..

Chapter 23:  The crowd in the courtyard moved aside to let Anakin and Obi-Wan through.  As they got to the other side, a lamina door opened into a half ball shaped room.  There a bunch of of spherical animals were moving about which Anakin tells Obi-Wan are going to become their ship.  Obi-Wan says to be wary of what he is feeling because The Force can be deceiving.  Anakin ran into the room with both arms open with Obi-Wan trotting behind him.  As Anakin Anakin yelled about the seed partners, the doors closed behind them.  Obi-Wan advised to let the seed partners take the initiative.  Obi-Wan suddenly felt Anakin’s Jedi training slip and leave his body.  Then Anakin yelled, “I’m ready”.  Then Obi-Wan realized that Anakin wasn’t losing his training, but had learned to meditate within The Force in a way even he couldn’t understand.  Obi-Wan thought they wanted something from them, but Anakin disagreed.  Then Obi-Wan agreed that they were not what the sphere creatures expected.  Next thing they knew, they were surrounded by ten seed partners and Anakin said they were accepted.  Then they realized that this was going to be a real commitment.  Anakin wished that Sheekla had told them more upfront.  The next thing they knew the creatures were vibrating and clicking and then dozens and thousands joined the ten surrounding them and began to overwhelm the two Jedi.  They couldn’t move or breathe in the avalanche of creatures.

Leave a Reply

