‘Star Wars:Rogue Planet’ – Chapter 19

Today was my first day of work at Wendy’s.  It was okay, but really boring ultimately.  Boring because all I did all day long was watch videos and answer question sheets over and over.  I guess this is how they train their employees, but honestly I did more reading at work today than I’ve done teaching.  I didn’t even get a chance to see anything in action, but I know I’ll probably regret making that comment later.  I came home with Heather and we decided we were going out for dinner and were going to shop some more for stuff we need for around the house.  Heather realized that we had a little more money to play around with because I got a check from the school today for my Master’s School program.  So, we went to Sam’s Club, then Wal-Mart, then A.C. Moore to get some more stuff we need around the house.  Then Heather and I decided to go out for dinner so we ate at “T.G.I. Friday’s”.  It was good and got me full and then we headed over to the movie theater and saw “Click” as a birthday gift to the both of us.  The movie was okay, but actually not as funny as I thought it would be.  Instead, it was a lot more of a serious film than the T.V. advertisements say it is.  Again, we came home by 10 p.m. and dumped everything down and started to try to organize the house.  Needless to say the house now looks like a war-zone.  We decided to go to bed fairly early as I had my first day of work on the grill tommorrow and I wanted to make sure I was rested up for that.

Okay, so time to talk about Chapter 19 of “Star Wars:Rogue Planet” by Greg Bears…..

Chapter 19:  Anakin couldn’t look out the windows of the transport headed south.  Anakin notes that the people on the planet are acting as if there are problems.  Anakin says he senses a change and shift in The Force on this planet.  One big shift.  Obi-Wan notes he does not feel the same thing.  An hour later the transport lands and the door opens.  A thick intoxicating floral aroma enters the cabin of the transport.  As they come down the ramp, they meet their first Sekotan, named Gann.  As introductions were made, Anakin asked where their really fast ships were.  Obi-Wan explained that Anakin was his student and Bann said it was okay because all younglings on Zenoma Sekot are students to all adults.  Gann told Anakin that he won’t see a ship for some days.  He then told Obi-Wan that they were on Middle Distance, a portion of the planet they settled on long ago.  Obi-Wan said they wish to buy a ship and have money and are willing to train.  Gann informed him that rituals come first.  Gann said he needed to introduce  the to Sekot and led them to an external platform and they get a great view of a beautiful planet.  Bann informs them that the planet is named Zenoma but the living creatures on it are called Sekot.  Gann informs them that in order to get a ship from their planet, they need ot acknowledge the Magister and the connection to Sekot.  Obi-Wan says they accept and Gann starts to lead them to their quarters.

Leave a Reply

