‘Darth Maul:Shadow Hunter’ – Overview

Well, I think the students at school are already on vacation.  In some ways, so are all the staff members.  You can just see it on everyone’s faces.  It’s so hard to get my students to focus and do any work and I keep telling myself, “only twelve more days left”.  Anyway, I started to tear down the stage from the spring concert and musical, finally.  It may take me all week to get it done, but I’m just not in any rush to get it over with.  I’m not going to stress myself out about it.  Lunchtime work was complete insanity.  I’m not sure if the kids even care if they went back to class or not.  Anyway, got through the day and went to my “Visual Communicator” workshop and had a great time there.  I was actually a little depressed that the workshop is officially over.  It was fun and I think we all learned a lot of information from each other.  I got home and my wife had worked her kabooty off!!  She started to shovel the ground out for the retaining wall by our driveway, she moved the hasta plants, filled in the holes in our yard with some dirt, planted grass seed, and was mowing the lawn outback.  Man, I guess that was supposed to make me feel guilty.  Well….it did!  All well, I know my wife does these things just to say she did them, and because she’s proud that we have our own house and wants to use sweat equity to make it look nice.

Okay, time to talk about my overall viewpoint on “Darth Maul:Shadow Hunter” by Michael Reaves.  Overall, the book wasn’t too bad.  I got really excited when I saw that there was a book about Darth Maul.  I thought we would finally get a chance to learn a little something about this dark and evil Sith character.  Well, I was wrong.  I didn’t really learn anything new about the character.  That was dissapointing.  However, the overall storyline of the book had me drawn in.  I liked the idea of Maul trying to chase down Pavan and Monchar looking for the holocron and information before they got to the Jedi.  Really, a good idea that tied into the Star Wars universe very nicely.  I do like some of the action scenes and liked all the creatures that were introduced through this book.  I really liked the concept behind the Taozin.  I-Five was a great human-like robot and reminded me of Data from “Star Trek:The Next Generation” and really brought me back to that concept.  A great conception that Michael Reaves had in the book.  I also like the interaction that Pavan and I-Five had in the book.  It’s not often that we see a robot and human having candid conversations with each other.  The introduction of Darsha Assant was interesting.  I like the idea that the Jedi would send their Padawan’s out to do some small assignments for the Jedi Temple, but would they really send a Padawan to bring back an informant about the Black Sun?  Just not a smart move.  To make matters worse, you send another Padawan in Obi-Wan Kenobi, to search for the answers to her dissaperance.  Just doesn’t seem like something the Jedi would do.

And then I have to talk about the negatives of the book.  First off, Maul seems very wimpy for such a powerful Sith in this book.  He doesn’t seem to get his prey till the very end of the book and doesn’t get Pavan without Sidious’ help.  I was also annoyed with the use of Sidious in this book.  He should have been more assertive with Maul, especially when Maul realized he lost the holocron.  If that were the true Darth Sidious, I think a little bit of a Force Choke should have been in order.  Then, the worst part of the book, which occured during the end.  The love story between Assant and Pavan.  That was the crapiest love story I’ve ever seen.  Or was it a love story?  It was like a love story that never really existed, but did, but didn’t.  I was so confused by the end of the story, I didn’t know what to think!  The ridiculous part of it all was the fact that it felt very forced (pardon the pun).  It was almost equivalent to the love story between Anakin and Padme in “Attack of the Clones”.

Taking all of this into account, it wasn’t a horrible book, but it wasn’t anything to write home about either.  With all of this in mind, I gave “Darth Maul:Shadow Hunter” a……

“Darth Maul:Shadow Hunter” by Michael Reaves:  ****** (6)

Leave a Reply

