‘Darth Maul:Shadow Hunter’ – Chapter 28

Well, I spent the entire day at Six Flags:Darien Lake.  It was a fun day overall and I had a blast with the students and rode a ton of rides.  It rained most of the day which was good and bad in it’s own way.  It was bed because we were all wet for most of the day which really was a bummer.  On the other hand, it was really warm, which made up for being so wet.  I rode every roller coaster in the park that was open except for “The Predator”.  I refuse to ride that roller coaster every again since I had shoulder and back problems form having ridden it a few years back.  So, what did I ride?  Well, let’s see:  “The Lasso”, “The Silver Bullet” (twice), “Bumper Cars”, “Pirate Ship”, “UFO” (twice), “The Mind Eraser” (twice), “The Viper” (twice), and “The Superman” (I’ll address that in a minute).  The band and orchestra did really well and everyone walked away with a Superior rating.  Couldn’t ask for anything better.  They got some great comments from judges and I think they did a great job performing.

I did have a rather embarassaing moment in the park, however.  I went to get on “The Superman” and had a hard time getting my belt to buckle.  Now, I don’t consider myself a thin American guy.  I know I’m overweight.  As a matter of fact, I go walking everyday and have been working on controlling my diet and controlling my weight.  I’m overweight, but not overly obese.  At least I don’t consider myself to be obese.  Anyway, it took three park officials to get my seatbelt in place.  We jammed it in, and fortunately I was able to ride the coaster.  However, one of the parents that tried to get on the ride before me was actually asked to get off the ride.  I found out later from a park official that “The Superman” has a weight limit now because some schmuck in New Jersey got killed on one because he didn’t buckle his safety belt properly.  However, the weight limit is not posted ANYWHERE in the park!  What an embarassing moment to have to go through.  All well, I’m a “man of steel”.  Well, steel when it comes to embarassaing me.  I walked away with my dignity and the ability to ride the ride.  Which, by the way, is the scariest roller coaster I have ever been on!  The first drop was amazing.  I went to say “Oh my God” and I got out “Oh my….” and God never really came out because I was in such shock.  Great ride, and it made both “The Mind Eraser” and “The Viper” look like babies now.  How are they ever going to top that coaster?

Anyway, onto Star Wars for tonight and Chapter 28 of “Darth Maul:Shadow Hunter” by Michael Reaves…..

Chapter 28:  We now follow Darth Maul as he retraces his steps back through the caverns and he is not in a good mood.  Maul reflects back to the day he made his lightsaber.  He thought about how the Sith use different techniques than the Jedi and how easy of a choice it was to make a double-bladed lightsaber.  Maul jumped out of the ventillation tube and back onto the streets of lower Coruscant.  Maul decided to locate them much the same way he did with Hath Monchar.  He used the network and found them on cameras heading for the Jedi Temple using the robot’s positioner.  As Maul continues to search using the computers in “The Infiltrator” he gets a messaged from Sidious.  Maul lets him know that he found the holocron but is sitll chasing the human.  Sidious tells him to do so quickly but cautiously as htey don’t want to be revealed yet.  Maul had to get a bike now.  he decided to lure the police by filing a fake report on the police net.  A PCBU (Police Cruiser Back-Up Unit) responded.  He dispatched the PCBU which caused two other officers with usable speederbikes to approach.  Maul dispatched both and had the ride he needed.  He then found Pavan on a security cam and sped toward the site.

Leave a Reply

