‘Cloak of Deception’ – Chapter 31

Well, it’s Friday and it was a totally buisy day.  It was a good day overall.  School day went okay.  We had some successful “Music Jeopardy” games in classes today.  It’s hard to believe that next week will be the end of the quarter.  But this has been one of the longer quarters of the year.  It always amazes me that the third quarter is ALWAYS longer by about a week or more.  I just can’t understand why we can’t spread our weeks out evenly, but it has never worked out that way.

Heather and I got a new fridge today.  It’s a Cosley, which is a new division of Fridgidaire.  I figure if you can trust one company, then you can probably trust the other.  I partook in our Teacher Scavenger Hunt.  It was fun, but very taxing.  We had fun doing things like test driving cars, stealing pictures from our own school bathrooms, and riding electric carts around our local Wegmans store.  However, we did learn that you should never give teachers an alcoholic drink and a microphone.  Let’s just say that in the wrong hands, it’s a bad combination.  Got home a LOT later than I wanted to tonight, and when I left the bar, they still hadn’t concluded the Scavenger Hunt.  I figured I would miss part of it, but never expected I would miss half of it.

Got back to the house at 8:30 tonight and got to spend at least a half an hour with my brother and his wife.  They also informed Heather and I that they would not be able to make it for Easter.  They’ve been traveling a lot in the past few months and I understand.  I’m bummed that we can’t come to them simply because our car is sitting on the front lawn.  Man I wish the government would give me my money back!  Anyway, my sister in law is pregnant and that kind of travel has got to be hard on her, so I completely understood.  I felt guilty that I didn’t get a chance to visit with my brother longer, but we’ve been so buisy here, it’s amazing we have energy to even get around anymore.

Okay, well onto Chapter 31 of “Cloak of Deception” by James Luceno……

 


Chapter 31 – We now enter the summit from Cohl’s point of view.  Cohl and Boiny find the droid with the missing restraining bolt.  Cohl knew Havac had to be there, then he remembered that Havac used to be a media consultant.  WE then switch to Qui-Gon and Obi-Wan joining Saesee Tiin and Adi Gallia as they protect Valorum.  Qui-Gon informs them of finding the six terrorists on the roof, but believes they were simply thieves.  Qui-Gon says he believes the assassins are now in the building.  Then Qui-Gon claims he can feel Cohl’s presence in the building.  Now we’re at Havac’s point of view from the media center atop the summit hall.  Havac hasn’t received news from his spotter team, so he knows they have been picked up and Cohl’s body has probably been found.  Havac talks to two human confederates and instructs one to make sure he kills their shooter out on the walkway for all to see, to tie up any loose ends.  We then switch scenes to Cohl and Boiny being picked up by Judicials and Obi-Wan and Qui-Gon.  Then Cohl reveals Havac’s plan to use a free-thinking droid to attack Valorum.  He also reveals that the Free-thinking droid can actually have an influence over the droids around him.  Cohl also reveals that he knows where Havac is, but won’t go into custody until he’s found him.  Qui-Gon agrees to join Cohl and find Havac and sends Obi-Wan to find Master Tiin to reveal Havac’s intent.

Leave a Reply

