‘Cloak of Deception’ – Chapter 25

Well, it’s Saturday and I thought it would be an easy day, but I am completely exhausted!!  Because I had to stay up late last night for the release of TJCS #4 I really didn’t get to bed until 2 a.m. with my wife.  My in-laws showed up at 8:30 a.m. this morning (which only gave Heather and I about six hours of sleep), which would normally get us through the day, but I know that tonight is daylight savings, which means we lose an hour of sleep.  PLUS my wife won’t get home till 2 a.m. again, which means I won’t sleep well until about that time anyway.  It’s really hard for me to take a nap on a Saturday when company is here because they know Heather worked till 2 a.m. and they feel sorry for her, but no one seems to have any pity on me because I’m not the one that worked till that hour in the morning.  All well, I guess I just have to grin and bear it.

My father in-law worked on finishing Tara’s closet and managed to finish spackling today.  It looks great, now we have to come up with a game plan on how to stain the trim and then paint the rooms and closets.  Soon the house won’t look anything like what it was when we moved in.  Heather took a nap this afternoon and her father and I tried to get the evergreen bushes out of the ground today.  We were hoping to be able to pull them out with her father’s truck, but when we hooked the truck up and went to pull, the bush just shook.  It looked like we were trying to play tag with a very small tree.  Well, that didn’t work, so I guess we’ll have to go with plan B (whatever that is) starting tomorrow.  So, I worked on getting the tree root that is by our driveway worked out of the ground.  I hope to have the rest of it out by tomorrow.

I also worked on grading papers all day today.  I only have a week and a half left to the quarter and I just realized this week how far behind I have gotten on grading papers.  Man, it sucks when I get behind because I get behind with papers from three different grade levels.  It makes three times the amount of paperwork.  Anyway, I hope to sit down tomorrow and finish grading and be completely caught up.

I was downstairs grading papers and decided that I might as well listen to something (it was 11 p.m., but remember I really can’t fall asleep until my wife gets home), so I decided to listen to “Chronoradio” #26.  Well, it was another great show by Nathan Butler.  I don’t know how he does it, but he keeps me interested in every episode.  Many times he makes me want the episode to be longer.  Way to go on another great episode Nathan!!

I’m starting to catch-up on my Star Wars listening and I hope to be able to keep up with some more shows in the future.  I’m starting to listen to “Tattoine T.V.” more and I am starting to catch up with “Star Wars F.M.”.  I already listen to “Chronoradio”, “Star Wars:  In The Beginning”, “Star Wars:  And Beyond”, and “Bookiees” on a regular basis.  I don’t know how everyone stays up with it all.  My next goal is to start listening to Dany Pepin’s show more, “Star Wars En Direct”.  Bet you didn’t know all of these shows even existed, did ya?

Okay, onto talking about Chapter 25 of “Cloak of Deception” by James Luceno……


Chapter 25 – We start this chapter following the Jedi from Asmeru landing on Eriadu in “The Hawk Bat”.  The Jedi feel the presence of Cohl and have decided they must replace the Chancellor’s guards to garauntee his safety.  We then switch to Havac and Cohl talking.  Havac reveals that the Jedi know of their plan.  Havac is upset with Cohl’s non-challant way he is handling the situation, so he grabs Rella’s blaster and attempts to take her hostage.  During the foray that follows, Rella is killed and Cohl and Boiny are severely injured by Havac.  We then switch back to the Jedi talking to Chancellor Valorum.  They try to talk him out of giving his opening comments, but Valorum won’t have it!  The Jedi then agree to check out the site of the summit to see what they can learn about the Nebula Front.

Leave a Reply

