Online Star Wars Book Club

Okay, so tonight was exhausting as well.  But, for different reasons.  Heather and I opted to babysit for some friends of ours (two kids) and I have to say it was hard to deal with other kids in my own house.  I should be used to dealing with other kids because I do it everyday at school.  But, those kids at school aren’t in my own home, they are simply in a classroom that I use from the taxpayers of my school district.  I guess that is the difference.  They’re not in my home.  I guess the other thing that makes it difficult is the fact that the family’s kids that we watched are obviously not faith based.  It’s hard to discipline kids if they don’t know what viewpoint you’re coming from when you discipline them.  Anyway, we got through the night, but it was tough.  Their parents did not show up until 8:30 p.m. to pick them up.  My kids are normally in bed at 7:30 or 7 p.m. and they very rarely ever stay up beyond that, but last night, we didn’t really get them settled down and into bed until 9:00 p.m.  Now my wife didn’t care because she will be home all day tomorrow, but it makes it hard on me when I have to teach at school the next day and then attend a workshop.

I got an email from Jeff Roney again today that came up with a great idea for a new Star Wars site.  I’m not going to reveal the details here, but I have decided that I am going to run with the idea and may be developing the site sometime in the next few months.  Jeff, if you’re reading this, I know you know what I’m talking about.

Yesterday, I forgot to tell you all that Heather and I went before the traffic court judge.  We were all prepared to fight to defend our honor and let the judge know that we got screwed, but when we stepped forward for our day in court, the judge said, “how do you plead” and we said, “not guilty” and the judge said, “talk to the court secretary and set a date for your appearance, we will send you a copy of the police officer’s report.  Next!!!”  And that’s when I realized that we weren’t there for the actual court case, we were there to plead guilty or innocent.  DUH.  Why do they even bother with this step?  Don’t you think that people that are guilty would just send that in, instead of showing up to court to say so?  Hey, this is why I did NOT become a lawyer.

Okay, so tonight’s Star Wars discussion is NOT about Revenge of the Sith.  I have decided I am going to prep all of you of our Star Wars Book Club that will be run online.  So, without further ado, here’s how it’s going to be run……


Alright, some ground rules.  First, I am open to suggestions as we go through this book review process and I am open to others making comments on this site about what we are doing.  As a matter of fact, I encourage it!  Please help me as I try to help all of you review these Star Wars books.

 

With that in mind, we will attempt to follow the Star Wars books in Star Wars Chronological Order.  Meaning that I am basing it on the Star Wars timeline and starting in the order of the Star Wars Universe and not on the release date of the book.  Will it be perfect?  Probably not.  I’m going on the books that have already been released and ones that I have already read.  If a book has been released on paperback then it will  be included, however, if it is only out on hardcover, then I will review it when the paperback version becomes available.  If books are released as the books are reviewed, those books will be saved until the end.  As far as ebooks are concerned, I do not believe that they are available anymore (at least most of them) and will probably not review them.  If I manage to get copies of ebooks, then I promise to review them.

I will be creating a database on this blog about the books that we will be reading.  I guess you could call it a “Spark Note” or a “Cliff Note”.  I will break the books up into sections where feasible, but will most likely break the books up by chapter.  I will also attempt (as accurate as possible) to make character lists, world lists, and spaceship lists for each chapter and each book.  As you can see, I want to be as thorough and accurate as possible.  If I make a mistake along the way, please correct me in the comment section and I will be sure to make the corrections in the readings.  My hope is that my site can be used as a Star Wars Cliff Notes site as well as a reference site.  Maybe you don’t know what books Admiral Thrawn was in.  Well, in a few years, you should be able to hop on over to jedicouncil.blog.com to find the answer to any of your questions.  Most books will take about a month or so to review (depending on how many chapters they have).

 

So, that’s the plan.  Let me know if you all agree, or if there is something else you would like to see me do.  I want to make this as interactive and informative as possible.  My hope is that you all read the chapters with me and then read my summation of the chapters and then make comments or corrections where needed.  Let’s see if this works.

 

Our first book is “Cloak of Deception” by James Luceno.  On Sunday, I plan on reviewing chapters 1-5.  That section of the book is titled “Dorvalla”.  I am giving all of you till Sunday because I know that some of you may be trying to read those chapters in that time, so I want to give you time to read these chapters.  From that point on, I will go chapter by chapter.  I hope all of you are as excited as I am about this.  I think we may be breaking new ground here with the first interactive Online Star Wars Book Club.

 

Tommorrow night I will be doing my final review of The Revenge of the Sith.  Which means that my reviews of the movies will be done this week.  J

Leave a Reply

