Chancellor Palpatine/Darth Sidious

I am a little tired today.  Don’t know why, I actually went to bed at a decent hour last night and slept right through.  I guess my body is just craving sleep at this point.  I was excited today because I got an email from Jeff Roney today.  I never expected it, but it was really cool to have a guy like Roney give me an email.  He promised to help me get onto the Galactic Senate message boards for Star Wars.  I got on tonight and was actually able to post.  This makes me very excited because I can finally be on those boards and we now finally have an official discussion thread for TJCS.  I know I said thank you to Jeff on the boards, but I want to say again, “thanks Jeff!!”

I had a workshop tonight about writing a curriculum for General Music at my school.  I am really looking forward to the opportunity because I had a hard time my first few years teaching in this district because I wasn’t sure what I was supposed to be concentrating on.  Having a curriculum will give the teachers, students, and parents some focus points to concentrate on.

This week seems so buisy, but one of my meetings tomorrow night has been cancelled which will make is easier to try and work out our schedule with our one car.  Heather used the local bus system today to get home form work so I could have the car for my workshop after school today, and that seemed to work well.  Although, I really want to get our other car on the road so we don’t have to go through this hassle from week to week.  It makes it hard having one car and it has added some stress on my life lately.  Luckily this meeting was cancelled and SMASH has been cancelled this week, so we’re looking at no more meetings his week.  This will help to give me some freedom to catch up on some projects this week as well.

Well, now is the time to talk about Chancellor Palpatine/Darth Sidious in The Revenge of the Sith…..

 

Chancellor Palpatine/Darth Sidious:  ********** (10+)


There is no doubt in my mind that Chancellor Palpatine was a powerful character in The Revenge of the Sith.  I do believe that his character is very believable because of the great acting job by Ian McDiarmid and his ability to switch between Palapatine and Darth Sidious at the drop of a dime.  I was amazed at how quickly McDiarmid was able to change the tone of his voice to go from one character representation to another.  He really does sound evil as Sidious and compassionate as Palpatine.  Now that’s a guy that knows how to voice act better than anyone else out there.

 

I was very intrigued at the acting job that Palpatine does at the beginning of this movie.  When Anakin and Obi-Wan show up to rescue the Chancellor, he seems almost ready to drewl at the prospect of a Jedi/Sith fight happening right in front of him.  Yet, at the same time he acts like he’s a bumbling moron and a buffoon.  He acts like a “girly man” (yeah, I know that’s a rip from Saturday Night Live) that is auditioning an apprentice.  Wait!  That’s exactly what he’s doing!!  The only reason that Anakin cuts off Dooku’s head is because Palpatine told him to do so.  Or was it Sidious?  Anyone ever pay attention to how the tone of his voice changes when he asks Anakin to kill Dooku?  It sure sounds like it’s Sidious asking Anakin to act!

 

Then we see the innocent Palpatine on the bridge of Grievous’ ship when Obi-Wan and Anakin attack Grievous and he acts like an innocent buffoon again!  I would love to have put Palpatine in a psychologist’s office to psycho analyze what kind of affliction he has.  Sounds like a Star Wars parody cartoon to me!!  Anyway, he is amazed again when Anakin is able to land the spacecraft in one piece.

 

Palpatine starts to make his full transition to Sidious in the ampitheater while talking to Anakin about Darth Plagus, the Wise.  This is the point at which I think we start to see the true face of Darth Sidious.  From this point on, I believe he had forseen how things would lay out and everything went according to his plan.  I think the Sith prophecy that he talks about is interesting.  They never fully reveal the truth, but is it possible that Sidious was Plagus’ apprentice or is it possible that he was referring to another member of the Sith?  Just an interesting question to ponder.

 

Now things fall into Evil ruin for both Anakin and Palpatine.  Palpatine shows the true power of Darth Sidious when Mace Windu and three other Jedi arrive in his quarters to arrest him.  Sidious does an amazing leap, opens up his lightsaber and dispatches two Jedi almost immediately.  Then he kills the third one (Kit Fisto) rather easily as well.  This is just a small example of the true power of Sidious.  He shows his true power in the fight with Windu.  During this fight, you have to ask, did Sidious act weak when Windu cornered him to bait Anakin, or had Sidious really been beaten?  I like the job that Lucas did changing his face into the true Sidious that we know, all wrinkly and dried up.  It showed the true nature of this evil character and shows the reason he looks this way in the other movies.  Throughout the rest of the movie, Sidious shows his true colors.  He becomes that which we expect to see, an evil Sith Lord, twisted and evil through and through.

 

I believe that Ian McDiarmid did an incredible job with this part and should have received an Academy Award for his acting job in this movie.  Palapatine/Sidious is the second most interesting character of this movie (second to Anakin/Darth Vader).  I want to know even more now, about the background of Palpatine.  Where did he learn his Sith arts?  Who was his master?  At what point did he really gain his powers or did he have them all along?  That’s the sign of a well written character, it creates intrigue, and Lucas made me very intrigued about this character.  Taking all of this into account, I gave Palpatine/Sidious a:…..

 

Chancellor Palpatine/Darth Sidious:  ********** (10+)

Leave a Reply

