Return of the Jedi Overview

Okay, well I have to say that I am completely tired right now.  I had to get up at 4:45 a.m.  That’s right, you read that correctly, 4:45 a.m.!!!  Well, Heather and I had a great night last night with the Roberts Wesleyan College Wind Ensemble.  They put on an amazing concert and it was good to see my trumpet professor, Dr. Paul Shewan.  Sometimes things never change, and Paul razzed on me all night long.  However, as an adult I feel that I didn’t take it personally, but just Paul having fun like he always did on Wind Ensemble Tour.  It was a great night, and we had four very nice young ladies stay at our house that night.  However, they needed to be back to the church by 6:45 a.m. so they could get going by 7 to 7:30 a.m.  I also had to be to my school early because the percussion group I help teach (called SMASH based on the premis of STOMP) was having a concert at one of the elementary schools that morning.  So, we did our performance and came back to the school and by this point I was completely exhausted, but had to teach four more periods out of my day.  I got home and crashed!

Tonight I started to work on the website for STAR productions.  I should have it all up and running by the end of the weekend going into the beginning of next week.  I’m also finnishing up the Special Edition of “The Jedi Council Speaks” and I am excited to try and get it out by March 1st.  I have a feeling for some, this Special Edition may be controversial.  But hey, you all know I’m all about controversy!

Anyway, onto my overall review of Return of the Jedi……


Overall:  I really HATED The Return of the Jedi!  I really think this movie is even more kiddish and less as impressive as even The Phantom Menace when it comes to dealing with the Star Wars audience and the Star Wars fans.  I really think Lucas did a horrible job putting this movie together and I think the issues he may have been having in his personal life at the time of the production of this movie actually caused him to produce a sub-par Star Wars movie.  The plot was bland, special effects were starting to get old (most of the effects in this movie had already been done before) and the action was boring.  That’s right, the only two things that Lucas do well, special effects and action, were completely missing in this movie.  There was only one lightsaber duel and it was lame at best, the battle on Endor was almost unbelievable, especially considering Ewoks supposedly beat a whole three legions of stormtroopers, and the space battle was boring from the point of view it was told.  The movie started off interesting, but by the end of the movie, it lost it’s flair.  Well, onto each of the individual character reviews:

Luke Skywalker:  **** (4)

“Luke’s role in this movie, although critical, was really downplayed by the need to “save” Vader from what he had become.  I almost wanted to take Luke Skywalker aside in the middle of the movie and say, “moron, it’s too late for your dad!  Do all you can to save yourself and stop trying to reconvert the converted.”

“And how about Luke’s fighting on the second Death Star.  He keeps running and hiding from Vader and the Emporer.”

“Hey, notice that Mark Hamill hasn’t landed another realistically serious acting role since this movie.  A coincidence or not?  I don’t think so.”

 

C3-PO:  *** (3)

“He complains, sputters out useless information and seems to just waste camera time to no end.”

“Again, I don’t blame Anthony Daniels for any bad acting, I just blame others for poor writing for this character.”

“This character seemed to add no value to this movie, and I really don’t have much else to add.”

 

R2D2:  ******* (7)

“R2D2’s role in this movie was actually pretty cool.”

“He was a little more aggressive in this movie and I actually enjoyed how he had an impact on the movie and on the Star Wars storyline.”

“R2 uses great gadgets and seems to be a little more involved in this movie.  He becomes a meaningful character and we get to see some of the old R2D2 humor that first shows up in A New Hope.”

Princess Leia:  *** (3)

“Well, you really can’t talk about Princess Leia’s role in Return of the Jedi without talking about the “Slave Girl” costume.  Why?  Well, let’s face it, Princess Leia looked HOT in that outfit and made every guy want to go and watch this movie just for that outfit.”

“Unfortunately, that is the only reason to watch this movie as far as Princess Leia is concerned.  Leia’s acting and role in this film are absolutely pointless and have little bearing over the Star Wars storyline and little bearing over my feelings for her or the plight of anyone around her.”

“Carrie Fisher was probably one of the worst actresses I’ve ever seen!”

 

Han Solo:  ********* (9)

“Well, Han Solo is really one of the bright spots of this whole movie.”

“Han Solo becomes likable and lovable and I think many guys connect with his sarcasm and humor throughout this movie.”

“Plus, Han Solo comes up with some innovative ways to attack people like tricking the reinforcements on the moon of Endor into opening the doors to the shield generator.”

Lando Calrissian:  ******** (8)

“Lando became a true member of the Rebel Alliance and by the time this movie starts, we really feel like Lando is part of the Rebellion “family”.”

“Lando’s role, although extremely small, had a rather large impact on this movie and the Star Wars storyline.”

 

Chewbacca:  *** (3)

“Chewbacca’s role in this movie was minor and unimportant at best.”

“I just feel that Lucas somehow got bored with Chewie’s character and didn’t know where to go with him.”

“I think that Timothy Zahn found a way to revitalize Chewie’s role in the Star Wars universe in a much more profound way than Lucas ever did after The Empire Strikes Back.”

Admiral Ackbar:  ****** (6)

“Ackbar represents the Mon Calamari race and reminds us with his strong role in this movie that the fight of the Rebels in the Star Wars universe is not just a fight of humans, but of all the species involved in the Star Wars universe.”

 

General Madine:  **** (4)

“He didn’t play the rough and tumble military leader and really didn’t do much to help the forest team on Endor.  His entire mission almost got botched and he wasn’t even with the troops he sent out on the mission.  If this mission were that important, then Madine should have been with those troops on Endor.”

 

Mon Mothma:  ****** (6)

” THIS is the type of woman that I think most women wanted out of Princess Leia that they never got.”

“Even though she was only a minor character, her role had a powerful impact both on the story and the outcome of the movie.”

 

Wicket:  **** (4)

“First off, why don’t we ever see exactly what Wicket is saying?”

“Second, what was the point behind Wicket? ”

 

Darth Vader:  ****** (6)

“Well, Darth Vader was my favorite bad guy of all movies up until I saw this movie.”

“Then we get to Return of the Jedi, and Vader turns into this wimpy character that bows down to the Emporer and lets him do all the dirty work.”

“I just hated Vader’s character in this movie in particular and Lucas blew up all the work he had done in creating this awe-inspiring bad-guy for this movie and I was dissapointed that he did it.”

 

Emperor Palpatine:  ********** (10)

“I really think he is the epitome of the Dark Side of the Force and really strikes fear in every Star Wars fan’s soul.”

“I will never forget some of the catch phrases the Emperor Palpatine has in this movie and the scratchy tone with which he says these phrases.”

” I was greatly impressed with the role that Ian McDiarmid played in this movie.  He was a stunning actor and a guy that seemed to come out of nowhere as far as the Hollywood film industry is concerned.”

 

Boba Fett:  ******* (7)

“Although people downplay the existence of Boba Fett in this movie, I like to think that his role is vastly important.  Jabba needs Boba around in order to try and maintain order both in and outside his palace.”

“I think the sadest part of the Boba Fett story is the way Boba goes down.”

Jabba the Hutt:  ******** (8)

“Although I didn’t expect Jabba to be a big “blob” type figure I still respected him as being the big gansta boss that I knew that Jabba was.”

“I really appreciate all of the work that Lucas and his crew into creating Jabba and bringing Jabba to life.”

 

Admiral Piett:  ****** (6)

“Piett was on “The Avenger” when it was struck in the bridge by an A-Wing and taken down towards the end of this movie.  It’s a shame that Piett had to go down in this way, but I really respected this charcter through this movie and The Empire Strikes Back.”

Yoda:  ****** (6)

“As a child I became very hooked on Yoda in The Empire Strikes Back and I truly believe that last thing I expected to witness was the demise of my favorite characer (at the time).”

“Thank you George Lucas for not only creating one of my favorite childhood characters, but letting him die in dignity.”

 

Character List

Luke Skywalker:  **** (4)

C3-PO:  *** (3)

R2D2:  ******* (7)

Princess Leia:  *** (3)

Han Solo:  ********* (9)

Lando Calrissian:  ******** (8)

Chewbacca:  *** (3)

Admiral Ackbar:  ****** (6)

General Madine:  **** (4)

Mon Mothma:  ****** (6)

Wicket:  **** (4)

Darth Vader:  ****** (6)

Emperor Palpatine:  ********** (10)

Boba Fett:  ******* (7)

Jabba the Hutt:  ******** (8)

Admiral Piett:  ****** (6)

Yoda:  ****** (6)

Leave a Reply

