TJCS and Podomatic/Important Anouncement/Yoda

Okay, so it is official.  “The Jedi Council Speaks” has officially shut down on Podomatic network.  I knew it was only inevitable.  So, if you want to get my podcasts from this point on (at least until the first week in March, when Podomatic will open me up for four days again), you can go to my mirror site at:  http://www.ourmedia.org/user/64604.  There are advantages and disadvantages upon using OurMedia.  Unfortunately, peopl can’t post comments there.  However, you can still post comments to the Podomatic page.  You also can’t call the phone number on that page, but that option is still available at Podomatic too.  I apologize for the inconvenience, but all of this is to try to keep this project alive and quite honestly, free.  I can barely afford the shirt on my back, much less a paying podcast site.

Okay, onto my Important Announcement.  That’s right, THIS IS AN IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT!!!  TJCS is now backed by a company that is being backed by myself and my family and we hope to start working our way in to Star Wars Fan Audio by creating some Audio Drama’s and Audio Comedy and Parodies over the next few years.  The dream and hope of this company is to also back us in our endeavours to also explore the world of “Lord of the Rings”  The name of the company is Souther Tier Audio Recording or STAR for short.  Next week there will be the announcement of a STAR webpage and you will be able to go there to find out what projects STAR will be supporting in the future.  Look for that info right here on The Jedi Council Blog and there will be a link to the right once the webpage is up and running.

Finally, it’s time to talk about Yoda in Return of the Jedi.  This will be the last character wrap-up for this movie.  Tommorrow night I will not be blogging as I will be watching the Roberts Wesleyan College Wind Ensemble in concert at my church, so I won’t have the ability to blog.  On Friday night’s blog, I plan to wrap this all up by putting up a wrap-up of Return of the Jedi.  This means that I will be reviewing Revenge of the Sith starting Saturday and then we will be starting on the books in Star Wars chronological order.

Yoda:  ****** (6)


Okay, I DO believe in saving the best for last.  That is why I decided to save Yoda’s role in Return of the Jedi for last.  Yes, I know this is out of order, but I can’t help but have a little bit of heart for the little guy.  As a child I became very hooked on Yoda in The Empire Strikes Back and I truly believe that last thing I expected to witness was the demise of my favorite characer (at the time).  Then it happened.  I somehow knew it had to, but I had convinced myself that Yoda couldn’t die.  I really like how Yoda simply died in peace.  No yelling, no screaming, and even very little crying.  He literally dissappeared.  PERFECT!  Lucas was a genius in developing the death of Yoda and I give him great credit for doing it this way.  It was respectful and understandable.

I really liked how Yoda decided to tell Luke about the existence of another Skywalker.  He let Luke figure it out and just like everything else that Yoda did, he let Luke learn things on his own.  Although Yoda’s role in this movie was minor, it was important to me as an adult and a child to see Yoda’s life brought to an end and to see him go in a way that was acceptable by all.  Thank you George Lucas for not only creating one of my favorite childhood characters, but letting him die in dignity.  That is why I give Yoda a:

Yoda:  ****** (6)

Leave a Reply

