Electrical Playtime/Emperor Palpatine

Okay, so last night seemed to fall apart shortly after I blogged with all of you.  If you all didn’t know, my wife has now switched to working closes at her workplace, which has made things a little harder on me.  When she works nights, I have a hard time going to sleep without her in bed beside me.  It’s amazing how quickly you get used to something like that and it’s amazing how it can be devastating when someone is not there.  Anywho, I went to go upstairs to go to bed last night when I noticed the one light bulb in our kitchen was out.  For most people this should be an easy experience.  You know, take out the old light bulb, and put in a new one.  Well, NOT for me!  I have to take an inane experience and turn it into something more than it had to be.  When I went to unscrew the light bulb, it came completely out of the socket, but the part of the light bulb that screws into the socket stayed.  Oh no, pulverized! (For those of you who have seen the movie “The Christmas Story”)  So, I decided to take a page out of the Boy Scout Handbook.  I went downstairs and turned the breakers off to the kitchen and cut a potato in half.  I then went over to the light and started to put the potato into the light and turn.  The concept seemed to be working as I felt a little bit of resistance, yet the bulb base seemed to be turning and coming out.  However, I got about three quarters of the way out of the socket and the potato go stuck on the upper side of the light socket.  So, I went over to the counter by the stove to get a knife to cut the potato off the light when I turned to watch the entire light fixture fall to the floor and shatter into a million pieces.  Not only did the light fixture come down, but so did the ceiling fan that it was attached to.  Later I came to find out that like other things in this house, the fan and light weren’t anchored or connected properly.  So, it is now going on one in the morning and things were just not looking good.  So, I took everything and swept it into the corner and went to bed.  Of course, when my wife came home at two in the morning, to her, it looked like World War Three had occurred in the Kitchen.  This was not boding well for my Friday.

 

 

I woke up early this morning and finished taking down what was left of the light fixture and told Heather what we needed.  She pointed out that she would like to replace the other light fixture because she didn’t like that fixture either.  So, Heather found a great deal at Lowe’s.  Two light fixtures for under $20!  Can’t ask for anything better than that.  She also got a new dimmer switch for the downstairs home theater room as the old dimmer was blown when I almost lost my life and got zapped last Saturday (read the appropriate blog and you’ll know what I mean).  So, I came home and was ready to do some electrical work before my wife had to go to work.  We turned the breaker off to the kitchen again and started to finish taking down both light fixtures and pulling out wires.  Funny things wires are.  Especially when you didn’t put them in.  The first time I put the light over the fridge together and turned the power on, the light worked and the switch worked, but for some reason (after my daughter discovered it), the power to the bathroom was now gone.  That’s when I realized that the power to the bathroom was going through the box for the light.  Now things got complicated again.  So we tried reconnecting wires, changing connections and nothing was working.  We decided to take digital pics of everything and off to Lowe’s we went.  We showed the guy at Lowe’s what we were doing and said there should be no problem.  Then the inevitable thought occurred to him.  He asked, “Are you sure the white wires are white and the blacks are black.  It’s possible they didn’t color code the wires like they were supposed to be.  This is common in older homes”.  DUH!  Why couldn’t I think of that?  So, we went back to the house and hooked up the white to the black and the black to the white and sure enough, everything worked!  So it just goes to show that you can never trust the color of the wire.

 

 

Well, it’s time to talk about what you’re all here to talk about, and that is Star Wars.  So, it’s time to talk about the Emperor Palpatine and his role in Return of the Jedi…..

Emperor Palpatine:  ********** (10


I thought the role of the Emperor Palpatine in Return of the Jedi more than made up for the pitiful role that Darth Vader had in this movie.  Darth Vader became this “yes boy” to a man that both as a child and even as an adult I cringe in fear about.  I really think he is the epitome of the Dark Side of the Force and really strikes fear in every Star Wars fan’s soul.  I will never forget some of the catch phrases the Emperor Palpatine has in this movie and the scratchy tone with which he says these phrases.  Phrases like, “from here you will witness the final destruction of the Rebel Alliance.” Or, “Strike me down.  Your hate flows within you.”  All of these lines will forever be linked to the Emperor Palpatine in my mind and I think that he truly embodies the evil in Star Wars.

 

 

I was completely blown away by the power the Dark Side had when dealing with the final battle scene.  I hadn’t even heard of the possibility that the Force being used as a lightning bolt being able to strike others down, yet in this movie we see the awe-inspiring power of the Dark Side of the Force.  And the wrinkly half-covered face of the Emperor Palpatine made him even scarier and even more powerful in my eyes.  I wasn’t sure if I would like having such a powerful Sith Master in a movie and I definitely had high expectations for that Sith Master to fulfill and in this case, the Emperor Palpatine fulfilled my expectations and then some.

 

 

And then there is the actor behind the role.  I was greatly impressed with the role that Ian McDiarmid played in this movie.  He was a stunning actor and a guy that seemed to come out of nowhere as far as the Hollywood film industry is concerned.  Ian impressed me both with the ability to act with such intensity and evil expectations, but he also had to do so with a ton of make-up on and many distractions to have to work with.  His ability to make the Emperor Palpatine so dark and so sinister is what gave this character depth and human compassion to others.  By the end of the movie you almost felt sorry that this guy was so cocky that he couldn’t even see his own Empire falling down around his ears.  As an actor and as a character, the Emperor Palpatine is the ultimate Sithly evil in the universe.  That is why I gave the Emperor Palpatine a:

 

 

Emperor Palpatine:  ********** (10)

Leave a Reply

