Lando Calrissian

Okay so last night was supposed to be this particular blog but things just didn’t seem to go the way that I wanted them to.  I was ready to get online last night to input my grades for this quarter and to write my blog when out of nowhere, my internet connection, my cable connection, and my phone all go down at the same time and since I use Time Warner, I know that they were where my problem lies.  So my wife and I called Time Warner on our cell phone this morning to try to figure out what was going on.  Well, Time Warner saw that we attempted to make a payment online earlier this month but it didn’t go through.  It wasn’t their fault, it wasn’t the banks fault, it was the fault of the internet company handling the transmission.  Long story short, we had to go all the way over to Vestal today and go to the main office for this area to pay the bill and discuss the situation over with a local mangager to get the reconnection fees waived.  They treated us like common thugs even though we weren’t the ones that made the mistake.  Needless to say, it wasn’t a joyful experience.  Honestly, this is the first bad experience that my wife and I have had with Time Warner, so I’m willing to write it off.  We’ve decided to never use their “convenient” way to pay the cable bill anymore.  Evidently, it isn’t so convenient.

Austin’s Pinewood Derby Car race has been changed to this Monday since we had a snow day last Monday.  He’s very excited and kept pulling his car out all week this week looking at it and asking me when the race was actually going to happen.  This is such a weird weekend without any football going on.  I guess I have just gotten used to it being around and I also go through a week or two of depression because I can’t watch it every week.  My son and I have taken to watching NASCAR to fill in the gap, and we find that pretty exciting and fortunately for us, it starts in about three weeks.  We like to follow Austin’s favorite driver, Robby Gordon (yes, that’s Jeff Gordon’s brother).  Ruth went to her best friend’s birthday party from the apartment complex.  She was surprised at how much her friend has changed since she saw her last and felt very disconnected with her old best friend.  I feel bad for her, but I don’t know what to tell her.

Okay, onto the Star Wars stuff.  Let’s talk about Lando Calrissian’s role in Return of the Jedi….

 


I really liked how Billy Dee Williams’ role was expanded from the time of The Empire Strikes Back and Return of the Jedi.  Lando became a true member of the Rebel Alliance and by the time this movie starts, we really feel like Lando is part of the Rebellion “family”.  I really have to remind myself at points in this movie that Lando’s character only came in half-way through the last movie.  I think Star Wars fans felt a connection with Lando and really felt like he was “part of the gang” pretty quickly.

We start with Lando putting his life on the line trying to get Han out of hybernation and getting him to safety.  When we get to the scene with the Sarlaac Pit, I thought George Lucas was going to kill Lando off early in this movie, and I really didn’t want to see that happen.  Luckily for the fans, that wasn’t the case.  Lando helps them escape and joins up with the Rebels when they plan their attack on the second Death Star.

Lando is then put in charge of leading the fighters on the attack of the second Death Star.  Although the concept seems simple at first, as the Rebels are hopeful their plan will work, it becomes much more complicated very quickly.  The shield isn’t down and the Rebel fleet finds out that the Death Star is fully operational.  Lando then becomes involved in trying to move the fleet around in a strategic way so they can give the team on Endor time to take the shield out.  After some time, the shield comes down and Lando leads the fighters into the Death Star power core and they manage to destroy the second Death Star and end all hopes of the Empire coming to complete power in the galaxy. 

Lando’s role, although extremely small, had a rather large impact on this movie and the Star Wars storyline.  I think this movie really moved Lando higher on the “fellow member” Rebellion list.  Because of Billy Dee Williams’ good acting skills and Lando’s improved role, I’m giving Lando Calrissian a….

Lando Calrissian:  ******** (8)

Leave a Reply

