Character Review

Okay, so now it’s time to review the entire movie, The Empire Strikes Back.  So tonight’s blog will wrap up this movie and give the character review so that I can move onto Return of the Jedi.  That simply leaves Revenge of the Sith and then we are onto books.  I can’t wait to start that!  We had quite the night tonight as I found out that we had a security breach here at blog.com and in “The Jedi Council Blog”.  Somehow someone got our username and password.  I have been assured that the problem has been fixed. Let’s hope so!

On a personal note, I can’t believe that tommorrow is actually Friday!  This week has been insane!  I haven’t had one night this week where there wasn’t something going on.  My weekend isn’t looking much different.  Heather and I are going to a B-Sens game tommorrow night.  On Saturday Austin and I are finnishing his pinewood derby car for scouts, Ruth is going out to do a girl scout activity, and Heather has work all day.  Sunday we have church and then Ruth is going to a birthday party.  Thank goodness I have Monday off just to recoup from the weekend.  Tonight’s review will include an overall movie rating.  I plan on going back to the previous posts and adding them tonight as well to let you all know how I rate the Star Wars movies from my favorite to my least favorite.  My favorite movie gets a rating of 1 Overall and my least favorite gets a rating of 6 Overall (because there are six Star Wars movies). 

So, onto my character review of The Empire Strikes Back….


Overview:  I absolutely love “The Empire Strikes Back”.  Maybe because I’m into darker, mystical movies.  Or maybe it’s because the first real lightsaber battle occurs in this movie.  I think the lightsaber battle between Darth Vader and Luke Skywalker at the end of this movie really set the pace for every Star Wars movie that came after this point.  I also love all of the different worlds that this particular movie traveled to.  We see Hoth, Dagobah, and Bespin and start to understand some of the underlying tension that gets built up througout the entire movie.  I really see Episode IV as a build up to the ultimate line in this movie, “No, I am your father”.  I really think that line is what set this Star Wars movie apart from the others. 

Character Review:

Luke Skywalker:  ********* (9)

“The beginning, middle, and end of this movie is all about the plight of Luke Skywalker and his influence on the universe and his ability or inability to become a Jedi.  I think what really makes this movie interesting is that there is the belief that Luke is the last hope for the Jedi in the galaxy, even though “there is another”….”

“First off, for those of you that don’t know, Mark Hamill was in a teribble car crash between A New Hope and The Empire Strikes Back.  Mark had a scar on his face during production and had to change the style of the make-up that he wore between movies.”

“I think Mark Hamill did an incredible job in this movie and totally made-up for his boyish ways in A New Hope.  I feel that somewhere between these two movies, Mark Hamill learned to act.”

 

R2D2:  ******* (7)

“He really joins C3-PO as being the comic relief for the movie.  The difference is that R2 is funny and not annoying like C3-PO can be.”

“I also like all of the gadgets we see R2 use in this movie again.  He interacts with other computers, tries to put C3-PO back together, uses a mechanical arm to try to fight with Yoda, and uses a fire extiguisher to mask an escape to the Millenium Falcon.”

“One thing that I think makes A New Hope interesting is the fact that the whole movie centers around the story of those two droids.  By this movie, the center of the story is really Luke Skywalker and the two robots take a back seat to the real story.”

 

 C3-PO:  ******** (8)

“I sometimes wonder if maybe Anthony Daniels was given more of an opportunity to let his personality take over the role of C3-PO and let his humor come acrossed in this character.  I don’t know what George and Anthony did in this movie to improve C3-PO’s role, but I think they should have kept this formula for the rest of the movies.”

“I love Han yelling at C3-PO, “Come on Golden Rod, or you’re going to be a permanent resident!””

“C3-PO was played a “toned down” version of his role in this movie and really played the role well.”

 

Chewbacca:  ****** (6)

“Chewie seems to have a more prominent role in this movie and I love the banter that goes on between Han and Chewie throughout the entire movie.”

“Overall, Chewie was a great sidekick to Han througout this movie, but really played a very weak role as far acting and having an influece over the movie.  He had less of an impact in this movie than he did in A New Hope.”

Han Solo:  ********** (10)

“To me Han Solo was also that guy that seemed very self-centered, and let’s face it, as a teenager and a child, YOU yourself are self-centered, so maybe that’s why I associated with this character so well.”

“One of the other better scenes in this movie is seeing Han getting encased in carbonite.  I think that this still pulls on my “heart strings” even today.”

“Honestly, Harrison Ford definetly developed himself as an actor by this point in his career.  I don’t think he really does a better role in any other of the Star Wars or Indiana Jones movies (Although, the third Indy movie comes real close).”

 

Princess Leia:  ** (2)

“Well, Leia’s role in this movie seemed to be almost inconsequential at best.  I was really upset at the role, or lack of role, that Princess Leia had in this movie.”

“On this planet happens one of the MOST despicable scenes of the entire Star Wars saga.  George (in his infinite wisdom) decides to have Princess Leia show Han that she has no feelings for him by kissing Luke.  At the time, no one thought anything of it.  As a matter of fact, the scene was pretty much written off, until Return of the Jedi was released.  THEN we find out that Luke is Leia’s brother!  WOW, talk about the verge of incest.  YUCK!!  I couldn’t believe that Lucas would have done that on purpose, and this proves even further that it was unlikely that George Lucas wrote all of these movies at once.  If Lucas was going to do anything on his re-re-re-release of the movies, then Lucas should have taken this scene completely out of this movie!”

“Her character isn’t developed at all and never seems to go anywhere in this movie.  To make matters worse, I think Carrie Fisher did a worse acting job in this movie than in A New Hope.”

Yoda:  ****** (6)

“Yoda.  A character that as a child I revered and respected, but as an adult, I have learned to almost be annoyed by Yoda in The Empire Strikes Back.”

I remember thinking that he was larger than life, and reality is that most of the quotes that are still used from Star Wars come from Yoda, like “Do or do not, there is no try” or “The dark side is quicker, easier”.  I love these quotes and you can find them all over my classroom because I think that they are quotes we can ALL live by.”

“Once thing I must say is that I like Frank Oz’s version of Yoda as opposed to the computer generated one’s of other movies.  What’s wrong with still using puppets even if computers give you more abilities.”

 

Lando Calrissian:  ******* (7)

“In some ways I feel bad for Lando Calrissian in The Empire Strikes Back and in other ways I don’t feel sorry for him at all.  I feel bad in that all sorts of bad things seems to just happen on Bespin and Lando doesn’t seem to have control over what happens to him.  On the other hand, the guy is pretty seedy and doesn’t seem to have a legitimate buisness to work with to begin with.”

“I was glad that Lucas picked Billy Dee Williams to play the role of Lando Calrissian.   I think that Williams made the role of Lando even more interesting than it probably even looked in the script.  Because of his great acting, I believe Billy Dee’s character was brought back for a reprise in Return of the Jedi.”

Although Billy Dee Williams did do some great acting, I have some issues with the choices made about Lando’s attire.  How could George Lucas allow a 1970’sish costume be used for this character in this movie?  It’s like going retro in a Matrix movie!”

 

Darth Vader:  ********** (10)

“Okay, there is no doubt that if you didn’t hate Darth Vader before The Empire Strikes Back, then you HAD to hate him afterward!”

“I will be honest with you, as a child I had nightmares after seeing this movie for months afterward, especially based ont he scene with Luke fighting Vader in the cave on Dagobah.  All of those nightmares stemmed from my ultimate fear of Darth Vader.”

“I think that both David Prowse (the guy in the Vader suit for most of the movie) and James Earl Jones (the voice of Darth Vader) should be VERY proud of their role in this movie.  I think this movie depicts the ultimate power of Darth Vader the most.”

 

Admiral Kenal Ozzel:  * (1)

“My favorite scene with Ozzel is when Piet is convinced he’s found the Rebels and Ozzel insists that it may not be them and Vader walks up and says that the Rebels are there.  THEN, Ozzel has enough balls to question Vader.  A man that chokes stormtroopers for the fun of it!”

“I think it was great to watch two of the Death Star-type troopers drag off his dead body of the floor before Vader trips over it.”

 

Admiral Piett:  ***** (5)

“Admiral Piett is one of the officers of the Empire that I have actually admired.  He managed to stay on board with all of the officers for a long while and managed to not get telekinetically choked by Vader at all.”

“Captain Piett then became a loyal Admiral Piett to Lord Vader.  So loyal, that he managed to last all the way into the next Star Wars movie.”

 

Boba Fett:  ********** (10)

“There didn’t seem to be any background on this character before he appeared on screen and even after he appeared, we got minimal information at best as to who he was and where he came from.  That is what I think made Boba a really cool character.”

”  I think the Mandalorian Armor makes him more interesting.  I think “Slave I” makes him VERY interesting.  And I think all of the cool gadgets he uses in this movie, including his awesome looking blaster rifle, make him interesting as well.  Boba Fett lead to a lot of intrigue in this movie and that is why I believe he made a re-appearance in the next movie.”

 

Character List:

Luke Skywalker:  ********* (9)

R2D2:  ******* (7)

C3-PO:  ******** (8)

Chewbacca:  ****** (6)

Han Solo:  ********** (10)

Princess Leia:  ** (2)

Yoda:  ****** (6)

Lando Calrissian:  ******* (7)

Darth Vader:  ********** (10)

Admiral Kenal Ozzel:  * (1)

Admiral Piett:  ***** (5)

Boba Fett:  ********** (10)

 

OVERALL:  10

Leave a Reply

