Star Wars, Episode IV/The Podcast

Okay, I want to thank all of you who have supported the Jedi Council Blog and better yet, the way you have all supported “The Jedi Council Speaks”.  As of right now, “The Jedi Council Speaks” is one of the top 90 podcasts on podomatic and I only have one episode out there right now!  I am working on the next episode as we speak and will have the new format for you.  I hope to give everyone a preview of the episode on this blog two weeks from now and I have a commentary already from one of my friends in an mp3 format and have some emails to my email box.  Keep em coming.  In case you haven’t heard the podcast you can go to it through Nathan Butler’s site at:  www.starwarsfanworks.com  All you need to do is to click on the “Radio Shows” link at the top and then click on “The Jedi Council Speaks” web link.  Or, you could go directly to:  http://treborgahkor.podomatic.com/  I also hope to start doing some phone interviews in the near future.  If you want to be interviewed by me, email me at robertcrissman@musician.org and we’ll talk about how to connect so that we can record the conversation.

As far as the blog is concerned, I have decided to skip over Star Wars, Episode III.  The reason I have decided to do this is because it has not been released on DVD yet.  I want to take the time to review the DVD and all the missing footage that Lucas has decided to reintroduce into the DVD edition.  So, with this in mind I’m going to skip over Episode III and start with my overview of Episode IV, A New Hope.


Okay, I have a special place in my heart for the original Star Wars Film.  There is no doubt in my mind that A New Hope has the biggest emotional tie to Star Wars for me.  I remember seeing it so many different times as a kid that I thought I would actually get sick of seeing the movies.  But somehow, no matter how many times I saw the movie I thought it was awesome.  It did break some amazing ground in the special effects ground and as a kid I didn’t see that side of Star Wars.  I saw an amazingly beatiful woman (Leia’s HOT, no matter how you put it!), an awesome hero in Luke Skywalker, an absolutely terrifying villain in Darth Vader and an awesome “weapon” in the Death Star.  As a kid, this storyline seemed incredible to me and the whole movie just entranced me.

Then I grew up.  The older I got, the less impressed I became with A New Hope.  I’m not saying it was a horrible movie, but I started to pick up on small things like Luke’s lightsaber being a different color on the Millenium Falcon than when he is in the rest of the movie (and why didn’t Lucas change that on the DVD?!).  I also noticed the stormtrooper that ran into the doorway when walking into the room with R2 and C3-PO in it on the Death Star (actually, my wife noticed that foible, which I still can’t believe I never saw it before she pointed it out to me!) and all of the other problems with A New Hope.  When the videos came out, I thought “wow, this movie has no hope”.  Then Lucas came out with the Special Edition tapes.  I became excited about A New Hope Again.  It was good to see some scenery added in and I really think it was important for Lucas to add in the scene with Jabba the Hutt, it just helped the storyline to make more sense.  Then we get new special effects and better explosions and better graphics.  I thought, “alright, now Lucas has finally decided to give this movie some respect.”  Then the Special Edition DVD’s came out and I am now in heaven.  I really feel like I’m watching Star Wars for the first time, AGAIN!  I feel as though I’m watching a new movie and have been re-energized by what Lucas has done to it in the past five years.  Is it perfect yet?  Heck no!  It’s still got some of the same initial issues, but I’m going to reveiw the DVD edition of A New Hope because frankly, it’s the best version of the movie.  Next week I’ll review the character of Luke Skywalker in A New Hope.

Leave a Reply

