R2D2

R2D2 has always had a special place in my heart as far as the Star Wars saga is concerned.  When talking about Attack of the Clones, I believe that R2D2 has stepped up even further in his role in the Star Wars universe and in my heart.  I do believe that Lucas’ stories were meant to be told from the point of view of R2D2.  Let’s face it, he’s the “hero” we all want to be.  He always seems to come to the rescue and seems to be in the right place at the right time.  This makes R2 the perfect companion for any Star Wars fan.

R2D2:  ******* (7)

 


R2D2 has always had a special place in my heart as far as the Star Wars saga is concerned.  When talking about Attack of the Clones, I believe that R2D2 has stepped up even further in his role in the Star Wars universe and in my heart.  I do believe that Lucas’ stories were meant to be told from the point of view of R2D2.  Let’s face it, he’s the “hero” we all want to be.  He always seems to come to the rescue and seems to be in the right place at the right time.  This makes R2 the perfect companion for any Star Wars fan.

At the beginning of Attack of the Clones, we see R2D2 with Padme as the ship gets blown up and Corde gets killed.  Later in the movie, R2 plays a major role in saving Senator Amidala’s life in her quarters.  He does semi-fail in his duties to protect the Senator, but still seems to play a major role in the scene with the bugs that try to attack the Senator.  R2 joins Anakin and Amidala on Naboo and stays with them while they keep Amidala on the planet and out of the way of danger.  There’s even a kind-hearted joke on the way to the loading dock when Anakin says “relax, what could happen to us.  Besides, we have R2 for protection”.  A nice little knock at the stubby little droid.

Later in the movie, Anakin and Padme decide to leave Naboo and head to Geonosis and look for Obi-Wan Kenobi.  R2 joins them and makes some of the most incredible moves in any of the Star Wars movies for R2!  In these scenes we see R2D2 fly, use a mechanical arm and we see him save Padme’s life while in one of the “lava” containters (or at least that’s what I think it is).  Although this scene is awesome and incredible, it does raise some questions in my head.  Why doesn’t R2 fly when he runs into problems in the other movies?  How is he able to be so nimble and so quick in this movie, and then become the bumbling idiot of a robot that we see in The Empire Strikes Back?  It’s not like he’s a human and degrades over time.  He’s a robot that should be able to receive maintenance and keep all of his gadgets working.  Just something to think about.

Even with the questions I have about R2D2, I still think that I associate with this character in Star Wars a lot.  My friends say it’s because I’m short and stubby like R2, but I beg to differ.  Anyway, I give R2 a:

R2D2:  ******* (7)

Leave a Reply

