Mace Windu

Okay, tonight I would like to talk about probably the most powerful Jedi of all time.  Alhtough you would never know it by watching The Phantom Menace, Mace Windu is quite the awesome fighter as far as Jedi Knights are concerned.  I guess that’s one of the reasons many Star Wars fans are not fans of Episode I, but fell in love with Attack of the Clones.  Let’s face it, this movie had many surprises including Yoda, and Mace Windu just to name a few.  Of the three prequels, I think Lucas seriously out-did himself with the production and storyline of Episode II.  So let’s talk about Mace Windu…….

Mace Windu:  ********** (10)


Okay, tonight I would like to talk about probably the most powerful Jedi of all time.  Alhtough you would never know it by watching The Phantom Menace, Mace Windu is quite the awesome fighter as far as Jedi Knights are concerned.  I guess that’s one of the reasons many Star Wars fans are not fans of Episode I, but fell in love with Attack of the Clones.  Let’s face it, this movie had many surprises including Yoda, and Mace Windu just to name a few.  Of the three prequels, I think Lucas seriously out-did himself with the production and storyline of Episode II.  So let’s talk about Mace Windu.

In Episode I, I saw Mace Windu and thought, “oh cool, George has finally been pressured by the NAACP and has decided to put an African American in his movies.”  I never seriously thought that Mace Windu, of all characters, would become one of the best kick butt Jedi Knights ever!  I was simply impressed not only by the role given to Mace Windu, but the execution of the role by Samuel L. Jackson and the sheer verocity of the character’s development in this movie.  When we first see just how much control Windu has, we see him discussing what the Jedi Council will do about the attempts on Amidala’s life.  Windu seems to be leary at every corner about not only Anakin, but Obi-Wan as well.  Let’s face it, Mace Windu had a pretty good idea what Anakin would become and even warned the council that the “boy should not be trained” in Episode I.  Only by Episode III would we see just how right Mace Windu really was.

More important in this movie, we get to see Mace Windu as a leader as well as a Jedi.  We see him leading assault teams of Clone Troopers and we see him leading teams of Jedi Knights.  He really plays a great leader role throughout the movie.  It is Samuel L. Jackson’s portrayal of the character in this movie which makes me fall in love with Mace Windu as my favorite Star Wars character of all time.  I was most impressed with the fight scene in the arena.  How powerful does a Jedi have to be to jump over a balcony, force land, deflect shots, and not break a sweat?  I think that just tells you how powerful Mace Windu really is.  It’s simply incredible!  More importantly, he is the Jedi that kills Jengo Fett.  I think that is what really puts him over the top as the best Jedi ever.  Even better than Yoda.  Let’s face it, Yoda failed as a leader, but I will talk about that when I talk about Yoda in Episode III.  Windu, however, never really fails as a leader and even tries to do the right thing when others would not.

I can’t help it, I’m a HUGE Mace Windu fan and I even tailored my Jedi Knight costume after his from Episode II.  So, with this in mind, I can’t help but give him:

Mace Windu:  ********** (10)

Leave a Reply

