Archive for June 9, 2005

Money, Money, Money

Posted in Uncategorized on June 9, 2005 by jedicouncil

You know, I think about all of the money I have spent on Star Wars over the years and the numbers would probably astound the average person!  I just came to the realization last night that I have spent a LOT of money on Star Wars over the years.  This past month alone I have spent $33 on tickets (going to the movies four times, and not including the popcorn), $79.96 on lightsabers before tax (three toy lightsabers for the kids and one for me – of course!), $65 on updating my Jedi costume, and $19.99 getting involved in my new hobby, the Star Wars Miniature game.  That brings my grand total to $197.95!


 You know, I think about all of the money I have spent on Star Wars over the years and the numbers would probably astound the average person!  I just came to the realization last night that I have spent a LOT of money on Star Wars over the years.  This past month alone I have spent $33 on tickets (going to the movies four times, and not including the popcorn), $79.96 on lightsabers before tax (three toy lightsabers for the kids and one for me – of course!), $65 on updating my Jedi costume, and $19.99 getting involved in my new hobby, the Star Wars Miniature game.  That brings my grand total to $197.95.  When I figured this out I knew that reality had to set in.  I truly am a Star Wars junky.  When someone spends that kind of money on something they consider to be a hobby, then it’s no longer a hobby!

     All of this reflection made me start thinking about how much money the Star Wars films have grossed.  Phantom Menace grossed over $100 million in five days, Attack of the Clones grossed $80 million in it’s first weekend alone, Revenge of the Sith has already grossed an estimated $308.8 million.  Now tie that in with the original trilogy.  A New Hope has generated an estimated $780 million, The Empire Strikes Back $290 million, and Return of the Jedi $309 million.  Add all of these numbers together and you get 1 billion, 867 million, 800 thousand dollars.  So the big question I have is where does it all go?  I know George is a good guy and all, but couldn’t George Lucas basically buy a third world country for that kind of money?  My brother asked me one time why George has to wear flannel shirts all the time.  I mean, come on, George has got to be able to afford better clothes than that!  Although I know I’m contributing to George’s wealth, I still cling to the ideal that the money is going to good use.  Besides, I would hate to be doing Lucas’ taxes every year.  And what if he get audited?  What I can’t understand is how George Lucas has become a billionare under the radar.  You mention Donald Trump or Bill Gates to anyone on the streets and they know exactly who your talking about.  But if you mention George Lucas, the average American says, “who?”

     So, George, if you’re reading this blog, I’ve got a wife and three kids and we’ve spent a lot of money on your corperation between movies, videos, dvds, and video games.  Think you could throw some of that my way and help us buy a house?  I know now I’m stretching my luck, right?  Hey, I can always dream!